Internship Week 6

After working hard on digitizing the collection, I have finally finished a full box.  Because the librarians I was working with were on vacation for the past two weeks, I will have to rename the files to fit the naming convention used for Archives Online.  While this is certainly not ideal, it will not be a huge problem and will not delay the project much as we have decided to stop digitization after I finish a second box.  This is because I want to wait to continue this project when the funding has arrived so that I can maximize the amount of paid time on that project.  Thankfully there are several other projects to work on, including beginning cataloging the hundreds of books in the library.  Because IU’s library catalog will be changing by the end of 2016, we cannot officially add our collection into IUCAT, however we will be creating a Zotero bibliography which will include all catalog information for our collection and can be searched online.  This will be a huge help for patrons as they currently cannot search our collection in any way.  Thankfully there will be a few other people working on this project as it will take many months to actually complete.  I am looking forward to this project as well because I will actually get experience in cataloging, something I have never done before.  With only a few weeks left, I am excited about the multiple projects I am working on and while they will not be finished during my internship, I am thankful I will get the opportunity to continue my work at the Glenn Black Archaeology Lab.


Leave a comment